Auto Racing Glance

MONSTER ENERGY NASCAR CUP SERIES: TOYOTA OWNERS 400 (400 laps, 300 miles around a .75-mile D-shaped oval), Richmond Raceway; Richmond, Va.

TV: Saturday, 7:30 p.m. ET (Green flag approx. 7:43 p.m. ET) — Fox (Radio: Motor Racing Network, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio Channel 90).

THIS WEEK: The ninth of 36 races on the season, the Cup series is at one of its most storied tracks. Richmond Raceway, technically a short track, is flat and wide enough for high speeds and plenty of passing based on skill more than courage. … Kyle Busch won his third race of the season last week at Bristol. … Busch won this race last year and then won again in the fall race. … This will be the 126th race at Richmond, a track first opened in 1948 and run on under NASCAR sanction since 1953. … Chevrolet still hasn’t won a race this season. … Busch won back-to-back last month at Phoenix and Fontana, and has finished no worse than 10th all year. He has a second-place finish and two third-place finishes to go with his three wins in eight races. … Three races this season have been won by a Ford Mustang, the other five by Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota Supras with Busch’s three and Denny Hamlin’s two. … *Busch leads the Cup standings with 361 points, followed by *Hamlin (334), *Joey Logano (326), Kevin Harvick (301), *Brad Keselowski (271), Ryan Blaney (265), Martin Truex Jr. (254), Kurt Busch (253), Aric Almirola (246) and Chase Elliott (245) rounding out the top 10.

*Denotes race winner and playoff berth. Standings per

BEST BETS: Kyle Busch is the heavy favorite at Richmond at 9/4 followed by Keselowski and Kyle Larson at 7/1, with Logano at 8/1 and Harvick and Blaney at 12/1. Jimmie Johnson and Kurt Busch are good values at 16/1.

NASCAR XFINITY SERIES: TOYOTACARE 250 (250 laps, 187.5 miles around a .75-mile D-shaped oval), Richmond Raceway; Richmond, Va.

TV: Friday, 7 p.m. ET (Green flag approx. 7:16 p.m. ET) — FS1 (Radio: Motor Racing Network, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio Channel 90).

THIS WEEK: The eighth of 33 races on the season, the cars get a little more room than they had last week at half-mile Bristol, but the racing is tight and the bumping is frequent. … Christopher Bell won last week at Bristol, his second victory of the season. …This will be the 71st series race at Richmond. … Bell won this race last year, then did so again in the fall. … Tyler Reddick leads the Xfinity standings with 321 points, followed by *Bell (308), *Cole Custer (275), Austin Cindric (251), *Michael Annett (238), Justin Allgaier (231), Brandon Jones (220), Chase Briscoe (220), John Hunter Nemechek (219) and Noah Gragson (219).

*Denotes race winner and playoff berth. Standings per


THIS WEEK: The Trucks are in the second of a five-week hiatus, returning May 3 at Dover International Speedway in Dover, Del., after running five of 23 races. … Kyle Busch has won four of the five series races so far. … Stewart Friesen leads the Truck standings (200 points), followed by Grant Enfinger (194), Ben Rhodes (184), Johnny Sauter (178), Brett Moffitt (174), Matt Crafton (171), *Austin Hill (151), Todd Gilliland (149), Harrison Burton (148) and Sheldon Creed (133).

*Denotes race winner and playoff berth. Standings per

VERIZON INDYCAR SERIES: ACURA GRAND PRIX OF LONG BEACH (85 laps, 167.28 miles around an 11-turn 1.968-mile temporary street circuit), Long Beach, Calif.

TV: Sunday, 4 p.m. ET (Green flag approx. 4:10 p.m. ET) — NBCSN (Radio: Advance Auto Parts INDYCAR Radio Network, Sirius 214, XM 209,, and on the INDYCAR Mobile app).

THIS WEEK: This is the fourth of 17 races this season. … Takuma Sato won last week at Alabama. … Alexander Rossi won this race last season. … This will be the 12th race under IndyCar sanction at Long Beach, but American open-wheel cars have raced there since 1984 and Formula One from 1976-83. The series will have raced four times in five weeks, but after Long Beach it’s a long layoff before the IndyCar Grand Prix on the road course at Indianapolis Motor Speedway on May 11. … Josef Newgarden leads the standings (125 points), followed by New Zealand’s Scott Dixon (98), Japan’s Sato (91), Rossi (84) and Colton Herta (81).

FORMULA ONE: CHINESE GRAND PRIX (56 laps, 189.728 miles around a 16-turn 3.388-mile permanent road circuit, or two hours, whichever comes first), Shanghai International Circuit, Shanghai, China.

TV: Sunday, 2 a.m. ET (Green flag approx. 2:10 a.m. ET) — ESPN2 (Radio: SiriusXM Radio Channel 132).

THIS WEEK: This is the third of 21 races for the season. … Australia’s Daniel Ricciardo won this race last year in a Red Bull, but he has yet to win this year, finishing 19th in Australia and 18th in Bahrain as the Renault team’s cars have proven to be unreliable so far. … Great Britain’s Lewis Hamilton took the checkered flag two weeks ago at Bahrain, with Finland’s Valtteri Bottas winning the opener in Australia. … The Shanghai International Circuit is another by ubiquitous German designer Hermann Tilke and opened in 2004, and at the time was the most expensive F1 circuit ever built at $450 million. … This will be the 16th race at the Shanghai track, which is shaped like the Chinese character Shang which means high or above. … Bottas leads the standings in his Mercedes (44 points), followed by Hamilton, Mercedes (43), Belgium’s Max Verstappen, Red Bull (27), Monaco’s Charles Leclerc, Ferrari (26) and Germany’s Sebastian Vettel, Ferrari (22).

*Stats and standings per


TV: Eliminations, Sunday, 2-5 p.m. ET (Live) FS1.

THIS WEEK: The NHRA gears up for the NHRA Spring Nationals near Houston, won last year by Brittany Force in Top Fuel, J.R. Todd in Funny Car and Matt Hartford in Pro Stock. Pro Stock Motorcycle is taking another week off, but will come back in two weeks at zMax Dragway in Concord, N.C. … The drivers are coming off last week’s Four-Wide Nationals in Las Vegas, won by Mike Salinas in Top Fuel, Todd in Funny Car, Bo Butner in Pro Stock and Hector Arana Jr. in Pro Stock Motorcycle. … Doug Kalitta leads the Top Fuel standings (319 points), followed by Salinas (286), Steve Torrence (256), Leah Pritchett (244) and Richie Crampton (233) rounding out the top five. … Robert Hight leads Funny Car (363), followed by Jack Beckman (297), Tommy Johnson Jr. (283), Todd (280) and Matt Hagan (271). … Butner is on top in Pro Stock (425), followed by Alex Laughlin (285), Hartford (284), Jason Line (261) and Erica Enders (239). … Andrew Hines leads Pro Stock Motorcycle (201), followed by Arana (198), Eddie Krawiec (188), Matt Smith (170) and Jerry Savoie (105).

*Stats and standings per